Fiction
 

BEYOND THE DARK RIVER (novel-in-progress)


Australian literature scholar Alex Seeger is numb

with grief. After the unexplained death

of her little girl she buries her pain in books,

neglecting her heartbroken partner. When Alex

stumbles on a cryptic note from another little

girl lost more than a century before - Isola Wilde, sister of the famous Oscar - her investigation into Isola’s mysterious death quickly becomes an obsession. As she scours Ireland for clues, Alex grows increasingly suspicious of Wilde family members and an unstable, vindictive woman named Mary Travers. Unresolved grief, missing evidence and academic rivalry all threaten to sabotage Alex’s mission. Will she unearth a Wilde family secret, and will her obsession with the past change the course of her future?


Beyond the Dark River will appeal to readers of Jessie Burton, Dominic Smith and Geraldine Brooks.


Read the opening of Beyond the Dark River


Hear me read from the Beyond the Dark River (formerly Requiescat) manuscript on Varuna’s ‘Writer-a-day’ app


Read praise for the Beyond the Dark River manuscript


The novel was inspired by a poem Wilde wrote for his sister after her death:




Requiescat


Tread lightly, she is near

Under the snow

Speak gently, she can hear

The daisies grow


All her bright golden hair

Tarnished with rust

She that was young and fair

Fallen to dust


Lily-like, white as snow

She hardly knew

She was a woman, so

Sweetly she grew


Coffin-board, heavy stone

Lie on her breast

I vex my heart alone

She is at rest


Peace, peace, she cannot hear

Lyre or sonnet

All my life’s buried here

Heap earth upon it




OCEAN VIEWS (EDITOR)



In 2017 I taught creative writing to Year 6-8 students at Ocean View College in Taperoo, South Australia. The result is Ocean Views, an anthology of flash fiction that offers a fascinating range of perspectives on subjects from buried treasure to the war in Vietnam.


Contributors: Emmalene Athersmith, Sumah Austin, Felicity Bennett, Brayden Brandt, Stephanie Broadbent, Sam Clerke, Jacob Collins-Hall, Amba Fiorentino, Tiffany Hoen, Reilly Hogansen, Isabella Howell, Hayley Kennedy, Emma-Lee McGlashan, Dyani Montgomerie, Indy Nyhuis, Amy Pennington, Delacia Pride, Tayla Sandberg, Samantha Schaffer, Riley Slack, Zoe Stone, Brooklyn Taheny, Skye Taylor, Lachlan Walker, Matthew Watkins, Sabree Webb, Ethan White, Trinity Wogan-Provo.



#Radelaide (EDITOR)



In 2014 Adelaide High School students immersed themselves in my creative writing workshops to produce these short stories set on their home turf. From Hindley Street to the Princes Highway, from Aldgate to Glenelg, their remarkable tales reflect the diverse interests, fertile imaginations and keen insights of Adelaide’s youth. In these pages, you’ll be plunged into the highs and lows of family life, romantic relationships, bullying, disability, mental illness, scientific exploration, time travel, musical ambitions, sporting aspirations, Indigenous experience, pre-colonial utopias and future dystopias. You might even spot a zombie on King William Street!


Contributors:


Giacinta Arancio, Shashi Baltutis, Mia Barbuto, Alex Bui, Karmiina Buot, Dimitri Cotis, Ginny Ha, Chelsea Holt, Ismail Idris, John Maggs, Costas Mallios, Levi McKenzie, Amy Norton, Dianna Peters, Tony Pham, Aurelia Prunier, Georgia Schroeter, Carissa Stevens, Danielle Tang, Zack Taylor, Jerome Trimboli, Corey Tugwell, Bochen Wang.


Read a newspaper article about the #Radelaide project (The Advertiser, 18 November 2015)


Listen to my radio interview with student writers Chelsea Holt and Zack Taylor


Buy a copy of #Radelaide from the SA Writers Centre