Fiction
 

WILDE UNREST (novel-in-progress)


Australian literature scholar Alex Seeger is a

woman numb with grief. After the unexplained death

of her little girl she buries her pain in books,

neglecting her heartbroken partner. When Alex

stumbles on a cryptic note from another little

girl lost more than a century before - Isola Wilde, sister of the famous Oscar - her investigation into Isola’s mysterious death quickly becomes an obsession. As she scours Ireland for clues, Alex is increasingly suspicious of Wilde family members and an unstable, vindictive woman named Mary Travers. Unresolved grief, missing evidence and academic rivalry all threaten to sabotage Alex’s mission. Will she unearth a Wilde family secret, and will her obsession with the past change the course of her future?


Wilde Unrest will appeal to readers of Geraldine Brooks and David Lodge, and those with a general interest in Oscar Wilde.


Read the opening of Wilde Unrest


Hear me read from the Wilde Unrest (formerly Requiescat) manuscript on Varuna’s ‘Writer-a-day’ app


Read praise for the Wilde Unrest manuscript


The novel was inspired by a poem Wilde wrote for his sister after her death:




Requiescat


Tread lightly, she is near

Under the snow

Speak gently, she can hear

The daisies grow


All her bright golden hair

Tarnished with rust

She that was young and fair

Fallen to dust


Lily-like, white as snow

She hardly knew

She was a woman, so

Sweetly she grew


Coffin-board, heavy stone

Lie on her breast

I vex my heart alone

She is at rest


Peace, peace, she cannot hear

Lyre or sonnet

All my life’s buried here

Heap earth upon it




#Radelaide (EDITOR)



In 2014 Adelaide High School students immersed themselves in my weekly creative writing workshops to produce these short stories set on their home turf. From Hindley Street to the Princes Highway, from Aldgate to Glenelg, their remarkable tales reflect the diverse interests, fertile imaginations and keen insights of Adelaide’s youth. In these pages, you’ll be plunged into the highs and lows of family life, romantic relationships, bullying, disability, mental illness, scientific exploration, treasure hunting, time travel, musical ambitions, sporting aspirations, Indigenous experience, pre-colonial utopias and future dystopias. You might even spot a zombie on King William Street!


Contributors:


Giacinta Arancio, Shashi Baltutis, Mia Barbuto, Alex Bui, Karmiina Buot, Dimitri Cotis, Ginny Ha, Chelsea Holt, Ismail Idris, John Maggs, Costas Mallios, Levi McKenzie, Amy Norton, Dianna Peters, Tony Pham, Aurelia Prunier, Georgia Schroeter, Carissa Stevens, Danielle Tang, Zack Taylor, Jerome Trimboli, Corey Tugwell, Bochen Wang.


Read a newspaper article about the #Radelaide project (The Advertiser, 18 November 2015)


Listen to my radio interview with student writers Chelsea Holt and Zack Taylor


Buy a copy of #Radelaide from the SA Writers Centre